Sunday Is A Yuppie Word

The day started very slowly for me this morning. I got drunk on good food and the subsequent spike in my blood sugar resulted in me unable to sleep ’till after three a.m. Combine that with having to wake up and go to church with a killer calorie hangover, and Sunday is no longer my favorite day of the work week.

Of course, with any Sunday it is hard to keep it high on my list when I’m in Starkville. I try to remain positive and see the good in my summer situation, but it’s hard when I know that if I were back in Memphis I’d be playing four hours of indoor soccer with good buddies every Friday night, sitting amongst incredible teaching and an amazing college & career group every Sunday morning, playing outdoor soccer with more good buddies in the afternoon, and chillin’ again with my siblings in Christ at night surrounded by good food and even better extreme sports.

Here, it’s quite different. I’m not a resident. I’m a college student. I am a fading, changing figure that people might remember having seen in service or in Wal-Mart before, but have never really considered a part of their permanent congregation. I don’t hold this against them. There is no bitterness towards the people here. It’s more of a bitterness towards the absence of people that I wish were here. Or better yet, towards my absence from the places I wish I could be.

About becklegacy

Emergency Veterinarian by night; Crossfit athlete by day; Redeemed work-in-progress by the Grace of God.
This entry was posted in Personal, Religion. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sunday Is A Yuppie Word

  1. James says:

    Hey Tiffany, very cool blog you have going here! I find your comments interesting about being a “college student” as opposed to being a “resident”. I am currently applying to 5 different colleges, none of which are in Memphis, and I’m struggling with the prospect of leaving my home of 5 years for that very reason…no longer having a residency. Anyway, I suppose it’s necessary for everyone to uproot and move on at some point in life, and I know God is directing my steps. But I also long to have a real place to call HOME. Perhaps that’s just a reminder that this world is not our home, and until we reach our heavenly dwellings as permanent residents, we’ll never really feel that way. I hope all is well.

    James

Leave a Reply

