Common Grounds

I am an avid coffee drinker, so this morning I decided to try and find some uses for my old coffee grounds. Here’s what I came up with:

1. Soil Fertilizer – the most popular result of my Google searches, though not very useful to me as I try and avoid growing things in my room…

2. Hair Moisturizer and Highlighter – Rub coffee grounds through wet hair to soften and add shine. Also can add highlights to brown hair. My sister would be a willing subject for this method.

3. Face Exfoliant – I have some misgivings about thishttp://www.blogger.com/img/gl.link.gif considering the staining properties of grounds. I might come out looking like a piece of toast.

4. Insect Repellent – Make a ring around the ant hill, and they won’t cross it. Could use this in the lab where keeping the ants out of my feed samples is a constant battle. The supervisor might not look too kindly on grounds all over her floor though…

5. Deodorizer – Place a bowl of grounds in the freezer, or fill nylons or cheesecloth and hang them in closets to absorb odors. Soccer bag anyone?

6. Dye – Use to stain old jeans, t-shirts, paper, and even Easter eggs! Go HERE to learn how to dye a pair of jeans. Really cool stuff!

7. Cellulite Reducer – Mix 1/4 cup warm water, old coffee grounds, and 1 tablespoon olive oil. Apply the mixture to your “problem area”, then wrap the areas with shrink wrap and leave on for several minutes. Unwind, brush off grounds, and wash with warm water. Repeat about twice a week. This is, without a doubt, my favorite use. I will try this method sometime this week and post how it goes. 😀

Other sites:
Cocoa Java
Essortment

Want to try some of these ideas, but don’t drink coffee? That’s ok! I’ve heard that Starbucks will give bags of their old coffee grounds to customers who ask (politely)! 😀

About becklegacy

Emergency Veterinarian by night; Crossfit athlete by day; Redeemed work-in-progress by the Grace of God.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

