On Beginnings

Sixteen hours into my seventeen hour long trip my heart began to pound.  My breathing quickened as I felt the vessels beneath my skin begin to pulse as adrenaline coursed through my veins.  I had successfully kept these tremors at bay for the past week, but now, as I left the plains of south Colorado and neared the foothills of the Rocky Mountains, I could not suppress my trepidations any more.  What awaited me in the wild reaches of Manitou I could only partially guess.  Memories can serve well as far as geography, the names of streets, the smell and feel of dry mountain air.  But not even the angels above or the demons below could reveal to me what was going to happen over the next three months in this dilapidated white hotel perched on a hill.  What new faces will be there to greet me this summer?  Who will be my new soulmates in Christ?  How many lessons will I learn not only from my peers and my elders, but from the students as well?

Will I grow?  Oh yes! He assures me.  Despite all the uncertainties, the nervousness, the apprehensions, the one thing you can be certain of, my child, is that here you will be changed.  Strongholds will be broken, desires of the flesh will be destroyed, and the eyes of your heart will be opened yet a little more to view My majesty.  Turn your eyes to these around you, these precious children of mind, these beautiful souls being made ready for glory.  They are the tools through which I will accomplish My purpose.  Heed them.  Listen to them.  Cherish them.  Love them.  They already join you in eternity as fellow members of My Bride.  “As iron sharpens iron”, so they shall be to you, and you to them.

And the I AM shall use us all to beat back the darkness, as the three cords bound together, soaked in the Blood of the Lamb.

Memento Mori.

About becklegacy

Emergency Veterinarian by night; Crossfit athlete by day; Redeemed work-in-progress by the Grace of God.
This entry was posted in Religion. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to On Beginnings

  1. Stunning images! I adore the post so much! 😉

Leave a comment